This year saw the change over of the entire Central Ward Council. Four positions were vacated with all Central Ward Counillors not seeking re-election. This meant 4 new faces were going to be fronting up to the first Council meeting after the election.

With four vacancies, Ratepayer group members were being encouraged to field candidates from their rank and file. We did this with myself, the web and our Treasurer too both standing. However the electorate chose four candidates who ran an excellent campaign. First elected was Chris Jeffery,  a young man stepping up to the plate to have a go. Second Anne Young, a local woman with strong connections to horticulture. Third up Lea Johnson, who is currently heading up the community organisation known as Neighbourhood House. Lea will bring strong community connections to the table. Fourth elected is Bill Moar, former broad acre farmer.

The Association would like to congratulate all four for standing and being elected and we wish them all the best. We will be seeking their support for projects the Association would like to see started, fast tracked and completed with in their term.